Home » News

Wallace Community College scholarship winner and past pageant participants celebrate 2015 National Peanut Festival


Dothan, Ala. – The National Peanut Festival Scholarship is a fully endowed scholarship of $750 that is awarded each semester through the Wallace Community College Foundation. The scholarship was established in 1993 and fully endowed by the NPF Board with a donation of nearly $17,000 in 2012. This year’s recipient of the 2015 National Peanut Festival Scholarship is Haley Clark. 
Ms. Clark, who is from Rehobeth, said “When I graduated in 2008, I wanted to go off to a university, but I became very homesick, so I started my journey at Wallace Community College in 2009. My college major is elementary education. Working with children is my passion. I have been invited to become a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and plan to accept. I intend to graduate from Wallace in May of 2016 and continue my education at Troy University in Dothan. Thank you to the National Peanut Festival for allowing me the opportunity to pursue my A.S. degree with the help of the National Peanut Festival Scholarship!”
In honor of the upcoming festival, which is Nov. 6-Nov. 15, some WCC faculty, staff and students who have participated in previous NPF pageants posed together for a photo.
Pictured, from left, are: Haley Clark, 2015 NPF Scholarship recipient; Christa Dixon, Miss Geneva 2014; Haleigh Sessoms, Little Miss Ozark 2004; Tina Leger Enfinger, Miss Hartford 2011; Robyn Logan, Little Miss Skipperville 1998; Pam Bowman, Miss Midland City 1994; Amanda B. Ethridge, Miss Abbeville 2000; Hannah Johnson, Miss Rehobeth 2002 and Miss National Peanut Festival 2002; Kara Danner, Little Miss Geneva 1990 and Miss Geneva 2000; Judith Harrell, Miss Rehobeth 1982; Kelly Osmond, Miss Fort Rucker 1993; Alaina Shiver, Little Miss Slocomb 2002; Julie Fischer, Little Miss Abbeville 1979; Megan Collins, Miss Henry County 2000; Ashli Wilkins, Miss New Brockton 1989; Savannah Granberry, Miss Graceville 2001. 
Other WCC/NPF participants not pictured are: Holly Byrd, Little Miss Slocomb; Mandy Wise, Little Miss Headland 1982 and Miss Headland 1992; Brittany Lynn, Little Miss Barbour County and Miss Eufaula; Madison Helms, Miss Cottonwood 2014; Anslie Pollard, Little Miss Wicksburg 2004; Kelley Brown, Miss Barbour County 2015; Brittany Saad, who carried Miss Peanut’s crown for Saad’s Jewlers; Carissa Watford, Little Miss Level Plains 2000 and Miss Malvern 2010; Kacie Walding Tillis, Little Miss Midland City and Little Miss Peanut 2001; WCC graduate Jordan Hendrix, Miss Hartford 2006; Callie Gulledge, Little Miss Skipperville 2003. 
To see a list of current scholarship opportunities available for the Spring 2016 Semester at Wallace Community College, please visit our website at www.wallace.edu or bit.ly/wccscholarships.

Back to News Listing