Home » About WCC » Consumer Information » Distance Education State Authorizations
Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size Print this Page Email to a Friend

Distance Education State Authorizations

In accordance with the U.S. Department of Education’s regulation (34 C.F.R. §600.9) regarding legal authorization to provide postsecondary education through distance or correspondence education in a state in which a college is not physically located or in which it is otherwise subject to state jurisdiction as determined by the state, Wallace Community College makes the following disclaimers regarding state authorizations.
Students seeking to enroll in the Wallace Community College distance education program residing outside the state of Alabama, but within the United States, District of Columbia, and U.S. Territories (excluding international locations), should check the College’s state authorization status below or contact the Distance Education Division at lsanders@wallace.edu or (334) 556-6905 regarding enrollment in distance education courses. We will continue to serve out-of-state students while working with individual state authorization agencies to meet institutional authorization requirements; unless otherwise indicated.
Please note that the state authorization requirements do not apply to students enrolled at one of Wallace Community College’s campuses (Wallace Campus at Dothan, Sparks Campus at Eufaula.)

State Approved? State Approved?
Alabama (pdf) N/A Montana (pdf) No
Alaska (pdf) No Nebraska (pdf) No
Arizona (pdf) No Nevada (pdf) No
Arkansas (pdf) No New Hampshire (pdf) YES
California (pdf) No New Jersey (pdf) No
Colorado (pdf) No New Mexico (pdf) No
Connecticut (pdf) No New York (pdf) YES
Delaware (pdf) No North Carolina (pdf) No
Florida (pdf) YES North Dakota (pdf) No
Georgia (pdf) YES Ohio (pdf) No
Hawaii (pdf) No Oklahoma (pdf) No
Idaho (pdf) No Oregon (pdf) No
Illinois (pdf) No Pennsylvania (pdf) No
Indiana (pdf) No Rhode Island (pdf) No
Iowa (pdf) No South Carolina (pdf) YES
Kansas (pdf) No South Dakota (pdf) No
Kentucky (pdf) No Tennessee (pdf) No
Louisiana (pdf) No Texas (pdf) YES
Maine (pdf) No Utah (pdf) No
Maryland (pdf) No Vermont (pdf) No
Massachusetts (pdf) No Virginia (pdf) No
Michigan (pdf) No Washington (pdf) No
Minnesota (pdf) No West Virginia (pdf) No
Mississippi (pdf) No Wisconsin (pdf) No
Missouri (pdf) No Wyoming (pdf) No

NOTE: Alabama is an approved state of the NC-SARA (National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements).  Wallace Community College’s (WCC) application to operate as a NC-SARA institution is pending approval.  Once approved, students residing in other member states will be able to take distance education courses and programs at the college.  The NC-SARA designation will supersede the need to apply for an exemption each year for all NC-SARA member states.  See the SARA membership status for states by clicking here.  This page will be updated once WCC’s application to NC-SARA is approved.