Home » News

Wallace Honors Summer 2018 Nursing Graduates in Pinning Ceremony


Dothan, Ala.—Wallace Community College – Dothan recently conferred credentials upon summer 2018 graduates of the associate degree and practical nursing programs. The graduates, who represent students from the Sparks Campus in Eufaula and the Wallace Campus in Dothan, will help fill employment gaps in the local healthcare workforce. 

Since the first graduating class in 1953, the practical nursing program has produced over 4,000 graduates. The associate degree program has graduated over 4,300 nurses since the initial 1971 class. 

In addition to 241 nursing graduates, 154 students have graduated this academic year from the College’s Allied Health programs, including Emergency Medical Services, Medical Assisting, Physical Therapist Assistant, Radiologic Technology, and Respiratory Therapist.  Since the inaugural graduating class in 1953, health programs at Wallace Community College have combined to place almost 14,200 healthcare graduates into the workforce of the Wiregrass area.

Wallace continues to enroll large numbers of prospective allied health and nursing students each semester. More than 40% of the College’s total student enrollment is registered in health sciences or pre-health sciences courses. The nursing programs are approved by the Alabama Board of Nursing and are fully accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN).

For additional information about Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) contact Michelle Blackmon at mblackmon@wallace.edu, or call 334-556-2262. For information about Practical Nursing (PN) contact Hannah Mixson at hmixson@wallace.edu, or call 334-556-2220. Application information for both programs and are available at www.wallace.edu. Application information is available at www.wallace.edu/healthscience_applications.

Graduates of the practical nursing program are:

Abbeville: Taylor Bradley and Jessica Lisenby; Blakely, GA: Brittany Johnson, Amber Jones and Tybrisha Thomas; Brundidge: Taylor Sneed and Yalonda C. Wheeler; Burleson, TX: Alyssa Keeton; Chancellor: Sarah Kathryn Wesley; Columbia: Natasha LaShell Griffin; Columbus, GA: Kimberly Gray; Cowarts: Summer Smith; Daleville: Catrina Buckhalter-Murry and Rylea Overby; Donalsonville, GA: Shawanna Glynn; Dothan: Cearra M. Jones, Destinee Ard, Alexandria Edwards, Deana Everett, Caitlin Griswold, Yameka Harrell, Courtney Long, Tyesha N. Lowe and Kimberly Stacy; Enterprise: Jacqueline Grant and Angelica Newsome; Eufaula: LaToya Douglas, Melissa Ludlam and Latoria Wright; Fountain Lake, AR: Lacey L. Wensel; Ft. Mitchell: Crystal Hicks and Janee’ Keith; Ft. Rucker: Shumika Fils-Aime; Georgetown, GA: Mallory McLeod and Teresa Rupert; Greenwood, FL: Jacqueline Haynes-Thornton; Hartford: Shurie Prescott; Headland: Andrea Davis and Jessica Hammonds; Helena, MT: Marli Vincent; Huntsville: Micah Jones; Louisville: Raeleigh Pickett; Midland City: Shandreka Tawania Faulk; Ozark: Shalontaè Horne and Janisha Williams; Phenix City: Ashley Moore; Seale: Aliyah Johnson; Skipperville: Demetria Yarneka Albury; Smith Station: Antoinette Davis; Sneads, FL: Lane Hall; and Troy: Tikia Jones and Union Springs: Ashley Youngblood.

Graduates of the associate degree nursing program are:

Abbeville: Sheila K. Money; Cottonwood: Brandi Faye Ash; Cowarts: Angela Renee Weber; Donalsonville, GA: Nichole D. Williams; Dothan: Amy Simpler Clark, Michael German, Casi Renee Hannon, Jackson Thomas Owens and Lauren Brooke Saunders; Enterprise: Sherri Lynn Frasher and Sky Loraine Espe; Eufaula: Matthew David Starling; Fairburn, GA: Doris Martha Nabukeera; Hartford: Jaycee Dorriety Rolf; Headland: Aren Justice Bing, Heather Elizabeth Dexter, Misty Irene Hardy and Courtney LeAnn McDonald; Leary, GA: Natosha Williams; Ozark: Joyellen Elizabeth Braden and Amanda Johnson; Phenix City: Jacqueline Evon Massey; Slocomb: Shelby Marie Hallford; Smith Station: Johnetta Shantè Morgan; Tarentum: Hayden Ellis Youngblood; Troy: Fatina LaJoy Hodges; Tuscaloosa: Eva Louise Lewis; Union Springs: Kurstin Janay Youngblood; Webb: Jamie Denise Thomas; Westville, FL: Sarah Marie Miller; and Wicksburg: Victoria Reachelle Mathis.

Back to News Listing